Der Letzte Freitag

Three weeks down. It’s hard to believe that I only have three day of class left, and that I’m heading home in less than a week! I’m spending my last Friday night in Hirschgarten. If I’ve learned anything, it’s that I will not want to write a blog post after I get back.

Taking some advice from my high school German teacher, Frau Chase, I stopped by Geschwister-Scholl-Platz. The square is named after Hans and Sophie Scholl, two siblings executed in 1943 for distributing anti-Nazi flyers at Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. In high school we learned about the Scholl siblings and the White Rose, the non-violent resistance group they were part of. Not far from the Geschwister-Scholl-Platz is Siegestor, the gate between the Maxvorstadt and Schwabing districts.

All of a sudden, I knew where I was: the same place as last night. So, I walked around Schwabing a bit, got a slice of pizza, and then took the train home. It’s pretty cool how comfortable I’ve gotten with the public transportation. I don’t really have to think twice about which train I should be taking when I get into a station. I was even able to give some people directions today when they asked.

Anyways, I’m going to get started on my presentation for class before I go out tonight. Tomorrow I have lunch with Gabi, my German professor from CMU! That should be a lot of fun, although hope I improved enough…

Leave a Reply

