Aktivismus

I had a wonderful lunch with my German professor and her husband today! We talked in German the whole time and it was really nice. I ate Käsespätzle and tried Johannisbeersaftschorle (sparkling currant juice). I definitely enjoyed my afternoon.

A few days ago, I got this email from the U.S. Consulate in Munich:

U.S. Consulate General Munich informs U.S. citizens that a demonstration is scheduled to take place in Munich at Orleansplatz on Saturday, July 26 starting at 1400 and concluding at Orleansplatz at 2030. The demonstration route is as follows:  Orleansplatz – Rosenheimer Platz – Rosenheimer Strasse – Gasteig – Innere Wiener Strasse – Steinstrasse – Preysingstrasse – Wörthstrasse – back to Orleansplatz.  The demonstration is being organized by the Palestinian community in support of residents of Gaza.  We anticipate the size of the protest to be approximately 5000 people.  

Even demonstrations intended to be peaceful can turn confrontational and escalate into violence.  You should avoid areas of demonstrations, and exercise caution if in the vicinity of any large gatherings, protests, or demonstrations.

Well, too bad this is right where I live… Avoiding the area really wasn’t an option. I ended up seeing the demonstration today and taking some pictures with my phone. It was peaceful while I was there, and as far as I know it stayed that way.

20140726_154954[1]

So then I took the S-Bahn to Karlsplatz to go to a bookstore… and I found Veganmania taking place! There was a band, vegan ice cream, and lots of people handing out flyers. I just found it really hilarious that the band playing was like, Gothic metal. They were pretty good, though.

20140726_160930

Later on I went with a friend to the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower). It’s a beer garden in the Englischer Garten. Unfortunately, it was pouring when we got there and there weren’t many people. However, we did get to see a group of men in Lederhosen try to get everyone sitting under the tower to do the wave.

I forgot to take pictures of the tower. Whoops.

Leave a Reply

