Level 24: Staatliches Museum Ägyptischer Kunst

Just finished my last homework assignment for the summer! I can’t believe tomorrow is already the last day of class. I’ve made plans with friends to go to Hirschgarten after class. It’s my favorite of the biergartens I’ve been to.

Today I went to the Staatliches Museum Ägyptischer Kunst (State Museum of Egyptian Art). I didn’t realize that the building itself was so new. The museum used to be in the Munich Residenz, but the collection has only been at the current location (near the Pinakotheken) since June 2013. The museum is very sleek and modern, but incorporates all of the old Egyptian artifacts really well (in my opinion). The condition of some of the smaller statues and paintings is amazing.

As far as the museum experience, it was a little stressful. I felt like I was in Tomb Raider, or something (sorry for being a nerd, everyone). The security guards at this museum were huge, dressed in suits, and didn’t make a sound as they paced the room back and forth. Everyone was being watched at all times. Pictures were allowed in the museum, but only without flash (which is pretty typical, no big deal). My camera flash was turned off, but these guys were staring me down every time I took a picture just to be sure. This one guy even took the exact same path around one of the display cases every time he walked by. This was literally a Tomb Raider level. It was a little bizarre.

So, with all of my homework done and my things mostly packed up, I’m going to sleep. I want to make sure I leave early enough before school to pick up my favorite chocolate croissant for breakfast (since it will be my last one… for now, at least). Gute Nacht!

(By the way, I passed the class.)

Leave a Reply

